Trying Film

During summer, I was riding my bicycle around the neighbor hood. I saw a garage sale and decided to stop by to see if they had anything interesting. The first thing that immediately caught my eye was a mirror reflecting the sun in my eyes. Within that split second, I recognized what it was. It was a camera body. I quickly walked over to it to make out what it was: Canon EOS 630. A film camera! Even more exciting was the fact that it was ONLY $2! Without even thinking about it, I hurriedly payed for it and took it home on my bike.

I gave the camera a thorough cleaning since it was left sitting out without a body cap. Even the little door on the bottom was broken. Fortunately, the magnet that was supposed to hold it closed was still attached, so I super glued it back where it was supposed to be. Since I still have my EF lenses such as my 50mm f/1.8 and 85mm f/1.8, it was a perfect fit for the camera body!

With my first roll of film, I wasn’t too happy with the outcome. I might have been because of the lab I got it developed at (Walgreen’s), but everything came out green in the highlights. I had to reduce the green a lot in post process. Nevertheless, it was fun trying film for the first time!

Leave a Reply

